Five Faculty Recognized for Scholarship, Work With Students

In recognition of their outstanding achievements in creating a vibrant campus for learning, five Baldwin Wallace professors were recognized at the annual honors award ceremony on April 30. They represent the best in teaching, research and working with students


Strosacker Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Stephen Hollender
Professor of foreign languages and literature (German)
This award is the foremost recognition for outstanding teaching at BW. Having joined the College in 1991, Hollender was department chair from 1995-2009. Both in and out of the classroom he has exemplified high standards of teaching and has promoted the importance of intercultural communication.
In nominating him for the award one alumnus said he is a professor "with an expansive and vibrant mind, and a deep and warm spirit who daily shares these with students in and outside of the classroom...he is a teacher in the truest sense of the word."

Bechberger Award for Human Development
Dr. Ana de Freitas Boe
Assistant professor of English

The Bechberger award recognizes a faculty member who contributes in outstanding ways to student development and growth through leadership outside of the classroom. Boe, who has been with BW since 2004, has been involved with numerous organizations and College initiatives. Among the student nominations, one person commented, "In her eyes, each student is filled with unlimited potential.  She selflessly makes herself available for her students at all times."

The Gigax Faculty Scholarship Award
Dr. Michael Kovach
Chair and associate professor of biology and geology

Named for former Board of Trustees chair Lester Gigax, the award recognizes a faculty member who, through effective scholarship, has enhanced the learning environment at BW. Nominations come from faculty colleagues. Kovach came to BW in 1999. He has an impressive vita of honors and published papers. In a nomination letter about him, one individual wrote, "This professor has put together a first-rate research program that has produced quality results and provided students with excellent opportunities to become involved with research. Having heard a number of his students present their work, I have been impressed with the quality of their work."

The Exemplary Teacher Award
Dr. Carol Gregory
Assistant professor of sociology

Co-sponsored by The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, the award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education and service to students, the institution and the community.
Having joined the faculty in 2007, Gregory is active in several campus initiatives. She was described by a colleague as being an "ideal professor."

The Student Senate Faculty Excellence Award
Dr. Jaimy Dyer
Assistant professor of heath and physical education

BW's Student Senate annually presents this award to the faculty member who goes out of his or her way to assist students in and out of the classroom. Focused on issues of wellness and student scholarship, Dyer has enriched the campus with her commitment to mentoring the next generation of community health leaders. Since coming to BW in 2006, she has been involved in securing research grants, mentoring students and coordinating employee wellness initiatives.

Posted 5/11
Share |