Indoor Track and Field


Baldwin Wallace Men and Women Take Leads on Day One of 2011 OAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Heidelberg's Marian Bevington

Complete Day One Results | Championship Website

BEREA, OHIO -- The Ohio Athletic Conference crowned 10 champions today (Friday, February 25) on the first day of the 2011 Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Championship, hosted by Baldwin Wallace University on the Harrison Dillard Track inside the Lou Higgins Recreation Center. In addition, the top three relay teams and individuals in each event earn All-OAC honors for the 2011 season. The start of the meet was delayed due to inclement weather in Northern Ohio.

Host Baldwin Wallace leads the men’s team standings with 39 points. The Yellow Jackets were followed by Otterbein and Muskingum with 27 points each. Mount Union was fourth with 25, followed by Ohio Northern (24), Wilmington (21), John Carroll (19), Marietta (7), Heidelberg (5) and Capital (1.5).

 BW also leads the women’s team race with 54 points, followed by Otterbein (31.5), Marietta (26), Ohio Northern (24), Mount Union (15.5), Wilmington (15), Heidelberg (12), Capital (11), John Carroll (5) and Muskingum (1).

In the women’s field events, Baldwin Wallace swept the top three places in the women’s weight throw as sophomore Cristina Perrine took first with a throw of 53 feet, 11 and three quarters.  This is the first year the OAC is scoring the weight throw event. Heidelberg freshman Marian Bevington won the long jump with a leap of 17’11.75”. In the pole vault, Wilmington sophomore Mackenzie Willis cleared 11’0.25” to take first place.

Baldwin Wallace's Kevin Phipps
In the running events, Ohio Northern sophomore Alison Steinbrunner defended her title and set a meet record in the 3,000-meter run, winning in 10:22.37.  Baldwin Wallace defended their distance medley relay title as freshman Jamie Clapacs, freshman Nicole Smith, freshman Brooke Hradisky and senior Kim Chinn won a time of 12:23.91.
In the men’s running events, Ohio Northern junior Dan Smith won the 3,000-meter run finishing in a time of 8:38.92. ONU also claimed the DMR title as senior Travis Isenberg, senior Garrett Brown, junior Cory Bailey and sophomore Ben Ankrom won in a Dillard Track record time of 10:20.94.
In the field events, Muskingum sophomore Chase Addy won the pole vault, clearing 14’5.50”. Baldwin Wallace senior Kevin Phipps defended his weight throw title with a mark of 61’0.25”.  Wilmington sophomore Brandon Bruner won the long jump with a leap of 22’7.75”.
Fans can follow all of the action, including live results and live video at the championship web site at

The two-day championships conclude tomorrow, Saturday, February 26 when 28 more OAC Champions will be crowned. Action begins with the men’s triple jump, women’s high jump, women's shot put at 10 a.m. Running events start at 1:45 p.m. with the women’s 4x200-meter relay. The meet is expected to wrap up following the 4x400-meter relays at 5:10 p.m.

FOR MORE BW Sports Information, please contact Sports Information Director Kevin Ruple by telephone at 440-826-2327 and e-mail at or Assistant SID Jeff Miller by phone at 440-826-2780 and email at Fans can access the latest BW athletics information at and we invite you to join us on Facebook at and Twitter at

2011 Ohio Athletic Conference Championships
February 25, 2011 | Harrison Dillard Track | Lou Higgins Center | Berea, Ohio
Day One Aggate Results (Finals Only)

Teams Competing:
Baldwin Wallace University (BW), Capital University (CAP), Heidelberg University (HU), John Carroll University (JCU), Marietta College (MAR), University of Mount Union (MTU), Muskingum University (MUSK), Ohio Northern University (ONU), Otterbein University (OTT), Wilmington College (WILM)

Men’s Team Standings (Five Events Scored): 1.) Baldwin Wallace, 39; T2.) Muskingum and Otterbein, 27 ; 4.) Mount Union, 25; 5.) Ohio Northern, 24; 6.) Wilmington, 21; 7.) John Carroll, 19; 8.) Marietta, 7; 9.) Heidelberg, 5; 10.) Capital, 1.5

Women’s Team Standings (Five Events Scored): 1.) Baldwin Wallace, 54; 2.) Otterbein, 31.5; 3.) Marietta, 26; 4.) Ohio Northern, 24; 5.) Mount Union, 15.5; 6.) Wilmington, 15; 7.) Heidelberg, 12; 8.) Capital, 11; 9.) John Carroll, 5; 10.) Muskingum, 1.

Men’s Results: Pole Vault: 1.) Chase Addy (MUSK), 14’5.50”; 2.) Karl Wunderle (OTT), 14’1.75”; 3.) Cory Biro (JCU), 13’9.75”; Long Jump: Brandon Bruner (WILM), 22’7.75”, 2.) Mike Minjock (JCU), 22’3.50”; 3.) Erik Svensson (WILM), 22’1.75”; Weight Throw: Kevin Phipps (BW), 61’0.25”; 2.) Mitch Supan (BW), 56’6.75”, 3.) DJ Smith (MUSK), 52’7.50”; 3000-Meter Run: 1.) Dan Smith (ONU), 8:38.92; 2.) Matt Dixon (OTT), 8:43.60; 3.) Scott Wolfe (MTU), 8:44.20; Distance Medley Relay: 1.) Ohio Northern (Isenberg, Brown, Bailey, Ankrom), 10:20.94; 2.) Mount Union (Griffin, Kohler, Hoover, Kelly), 10:29.79; 3.) Otterbein (Longo, Kelley, Mantell, Gibson), 10:37.67.

Women’s Results: Long Jump: 1.) Marian Bevington (HU), 17’11.75”; 2.) Ashley Bault (MAR), 17’7”; 3.) Michelle Gernert (OTT), 16’9.75”; Weight Throw: 1.) Cristina Perrine (BW), 53’11.75”; 2.) Stefani Graber (BW), 51’3.75”; 3.) Leslie Purnell (BW), 49’2.25”; Pole Vault: 1.) Mackenzie Wills (WILM), 11’0.25”; 2.) Ayla Starcher (OTT), 11.025”; 3.) Megan Brooks (MAR), 10’8.25”; 3000-Meter Run: 1.) Alison Steinbrunner (ONU), 10:22.37; 2.) Christen Handley (MTU), 10:28.67; 3.) Kelly Casanova (ONU), 10:35.12; Distance Medley Relay: 1.) Baldwin Wallace (Clapacs, Smith, Hradisky, Chinn), 12:23.91; 2.) Ohio Northern (Binkey, Sottoway, Kintner, Weaver), 12:40.50; 3.) Otterbein (Farver, Cramer, Main, Elliott), 12:47.18.


Share |