Harrington Distinguished Visiting Professors

Each year the Psychology Department at Baldwin Wallace University invites a distinguished psychologist to the campus for lectures and personal interaction with students and faculty. The program is based on a generous endowment to the Department in honor of Kathryn Grover Harrington and Robert A. Harrington.

Dr. Melba Vasquez, BW's 2013-2014 Kathryn Grover Harrington & Robert A. Harrington Distinguished Visiting Professor, will present "Cultural Competence in Psychotherapy: Death, Dying and Bereavement" on Thursday, October 10 at 8:30 p.m. in the Ballroom of Strosacker Hall. A reception will immediately follow the program. Dr. Vasquez is a Past President of the American Psychological Association, co-founder of the APA Division 45: Society for the Psychological Study of Ethnic Minority Issues, and of the National Multicultural Conference and Summit.

Previous Harrington Distinguished Visiting Professors at BW:

  • 2012/2013: Dr. Barry Schwartz
  • 2011/2012: Dr. Laurence Steinberg
  • 2010/2011: Dr. Carol Tavris
  • 2009/2010: Dr. Robert Sapolsky, Stanford University
  • 2008/2009: Dr. David Matsumoto, San Francisco State University
  • 2007/2008: Dr. Larry Squire, University of California, San Diego
  • 2006/2007: Dr. James Garbarino, Loyola University Chicago
  • 2005/2006: Dr. David Barlow, Boston University
  • 2004/2005: Dr. Daniel Schacter, Harvard University
  • 2003: Dr. David Buss, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2002: Dr. Sandra Scarr, University of Virginia (Retired)
  • 2001: Dr. Elliot Aronson, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • 2000: Dr. Philip Zimbardo, Stanford University
  • 1999: Dr. James McGaugh, University of California-Irvine
  • 1998: Dr. Elizabeth Loftus, University of Washington
  • 1997: Dr. Albert Bandura, Stanford University
  • 1996: Dr. Robert Sternberg, Yale University
  • 1995: Dr. Anthony Marsella, University of Hawaii


Share |