Political Science


Advisory Committee members, students, and faculty got together on April 9th, 2013, for the first annual networking event.

For more information about the Political Science, International Studies, and Legal Studies Advisory Committee, contact Professor Barbara Palmer at bpalmer@bw.edu

Advisory Committee

Created in the fall of 2012, the Advisory Committee consists of BW alums and other professionals who serve as a resource for Political Science, International Studies, and Legal Studies majors and minors.

Advisory Committee members are available to Political Science, International Studies, and Legal Studies students for informational interviews, shadowing, and other networking opportunities, such as our annual networking event. Students can talk to Advisory Committee members about careers in politics, policy, government, law, and the foreign service, and about attending graduate or law school. 


  • Stephanie Bayer, Chief Compliance Officer for Smart Insurance Company
  • Jekuk Chang, President of Dongseo University, Busan, Korea
  • Corey Clay, Associate Attorney at Jones Day
  • Mike Dovilla, Ohio State Representative, serving Berea (including Baldwin Wallace)
  • Tim Hagan, Adjunct Professor at BW, former Cuyahoga County Commissioner and consultant for The Mandel Foundation
  • Carole Heyward, Director of Engaged Learning at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Rosie Jovic, Program Assistant for the Ohio Center for the Advancement of Women in Public Service at Cleveland State University
  • Kristen Laughlin, Chief Marketing Officer for the Cleveland International Fund
  • Stephen Love, Information and Research Specialist at the Cuyahoga Land Bank
  • Perry Mastrocola, Adjunct Professor at BW and Attorney, Treasury Department Special Investigations
  • Lana Mobydeen, Adjunct Professor at BW and Cuyahoga Community College, Lecturer at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Samantha Mucha, Law Clerk at Spangenberg, Shibley & Liber
  • Matt Nakon, President and CEO of the law firm of Wikens, Herzer, Panza, Cook and Batista
  • Doug Nelson, Staff Attorney for Response Systems Panel to Adult Sexual Assault Crime
  • Deanna O'Donnell, Administrative Judge for the Parma Municipal Court
  • Lauren Orrico, Law Clerk for the City of Lakewood Law Department
  • Jim Parenti, Dean of Georgetown University‚Äôs Semester in Washington Program, a program available to BW undergraduates
  • Brian Power, BW Adjunct Professor & CIG Growth Team Member, Managing Director of League Park Advisors, President of the Lakewood City Council
  • Michael Rousek, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State, Washington, DC
  • John W. Ryan, State Director for US Senator Sherrod Brown
  • Ben Schaefer, Policy Associate for the National Conference of State Legislatures
  • Brendan Sheehan, Judge for the Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court
  • Michael Weidokal, Founder and Executive Director of International Strategic Analysis, Luxembourg

In Memoriam

  • Pasquale DiMassa, BW Alum and inaugural member of the Advisory Committee


Share |