Public Relations


Student Success

Scholarship Awards

The Charles G. Irwin Scholarship - Dr. Charles G. Irwin served as a professor of Speech and Dramatic Arts at Baldwin Wallace from 1948 until his death in 1973. This award recognizes outstanding students in communication studies.

  • Sarah Spiker 2010
  • Kiaya Sutton 2011
  • Jackie Zureich 2008
  • Nathaniel Bowen 2008

Edith A. White Speech Scholarship - Edith A. White received her undergraduate education at Baldwin Wallace then went on to Columbia University for her M.A. in Speech. During her 42 years teaching career, she served in Medina County Schools and provided 36 years of continuous service to Rocky River High School. She coached 68 plays and also coached Rotary Club Speech Contests for 20 years. Edith was president of The Cleveland Drama Teacher's Association among other memberships. During her BW years she started a life long membership in what is now Alpha Xi Delta Sorority and belonged to the Hiker's Club. This scholarship fund affirms her life long commitment to excellence in speech by providing ongoing assistance to worthy BW students.

Alexa Donner 2014
Rachel Phillips 2012
Jackie Zureich 2010
Alicia Hoisington 2009

Donna E. Fry '58 Scholarship - Donna Fry, a 1958 graduate of BW, served as a media specialist with Jackson Local Schools in Massillion, Ohio. A speech major at BW, Donna had great admiration for professors Bill Allman, Charles Irwin and Dr. James Ross and wished to honor them by establishing a fund for speech and theatre education. Donna was an active member of the North Industry Christian Church and a member of Theta Phi and Kappa Phi Methodist service club. She passed away in February 2012.

Sydney Stone 2015
Sydney Stone 2014
Rachel Phillips 2013

Share |